
Dossier · compiled from public sources
Andrej Karpathy
AI researcher: a founding member of OpenAI, Director of AI at Tesla from 2017 to 2022, and, as reported in May 2026, a member of Anthropic’s pre-training team.
Facts last checked 2 Nov 2026. Each source was read on the day shown in the source list. A profile is due for a fresh read of its sources after 180 days.
Roles
Member of the pre-training team at Anthropic (by 19 May 2026, end not stated)
As reported by TechCrunch on 2026-05-19, citing his announcement and an Anthropic spokesperson; no Anthropic page read states it, and whether it holds today is not shown by a source read.
As reported by a news outlet. TechCrunch, 19 May 2026
Founder at Eureka Labs (by 16 Jul 2024, end not stated)
As reported by TechCrunch (2026-05-19): he left OpenAI in 2024 to found Eureka Labs, and his status there is unclear. Eureka Labs’ own page, dated 2024-07-16, names no founder.
As reported by a news outlet. TechCrunch, 19 May 2026; Eureka Labs, 16 Jul 2024
Returned to OpenAI (a team on midtraining and synthetic data generation) at OpenAI (from 2023, until 2024)
Director of AI at Tesla (from 2017, until 2022)
His own site says he led the computer vision team for Tesla Autopilot.
Research scientist; founding member at OpenAI (from 2015, until 2017)
Board seats
None recorded.
Funding
Money put into the companies above while the role and the funding may overlap, and by companies of this person into others. Funders are a selection: the donors a launch post names, anchors and leads of a round, and stated investments. They are not a complete list.
Microsoft invested in OpenAI (from 2019, current)
Microsoft’s 2023 post refers to earlier investments in 2019 and 2021; OpenAI says Microsoft holds roughly 27% of OpenAI Group after the 2025 recapitalization, and that Microsoft continued to take part in its 2026 round.
Microsoft, 23 Jan 2023; OpenAI, undated page; OpenAI, 31 Mar 2026
Altimeter Capital took part in Anthropic’s funding round (by 28 May 2026, end not stated)
Named a lead of the Series H announced 2026-05-28.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
Dragoneer took part in Anthropic’s funding round (by 28 May 2026, end not stated)
Named a lead of the Series H announced 2026-05-28; Anthropic’s Series G post names it a co-lead of that round.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
Greenoaks took part in Anthropic’s funding round (by 28 May 2026, end not stated)
Named a lead of the Series H announced 2026-05-28.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
Sequoia Capital took part in Anthropic’s funding round (by 28 May 2026, end not stated)
Named a lead of the Series H announced 2026-05-28.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
Sam Altman was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Named in OpenAI’s launch post among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
Amazon was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Listed in OpenAI’s launch post as Amazon Web Services, among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
Greg Brockman was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Named in OpenAI’s launch post among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
Reid Hoffman was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Named in OpenAI’s launch post among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
Infosys was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Named in OpenAI’s launch post among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
Jessica Livingston was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Named in OpenAI’s launch post among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
Elon Musk was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Named in OpenAI’s launch post among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
Peter Thiel was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Named in OpenAI’s launch post among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
YC Research was named as a donor that committed to support OpenAI (by 11 Dec 2015, end not stated)
Named in OpenAI’s launch post among the funders donating to support it; the post gives one combined commitment for all of them and no individual amount.
The dates given do not settle whether this fell inside the role; at least one is an announcement date or is not stated.
This is a commitment, not a completed act. OpenAI, 11 Dec 2015
What their companies have in common
Worked out from the relationships, never typed. This is about company funding only. It does not say the two people have a personal, financial or working relationship.
Andrej Karpathy and Sam Altman
- Both held a role at OpenAI.
This is about company funding only. It does not say the two people have a personal, financial or working relationship.
Andrej Karpathy and Dario Amodei
- Both held a role at Anthropic (the dates given do not settle this: at least one is an announcement date or is not stated).
- Both held a role at OpenAI.
- Amazon is named as a funder of OpenAI, a company where Andrej Karpathy held a role, and of Anthropic, a company where Dario Amodei held one (OpenAI: a commitment) (the dates given do not settle this: at least one is an announcement date or is not stated).
- Microsoft is named as a funder of OpenAI, a company where Andrej Karpathy held a role, and of Anthropic, a company where Dario Amodei held one (Anthropic: a commitment) (the dates given do not settle this: at least one is an announcement date or is not stated).
This is about company funding only. It does not say the two people have a personal, financial or working relationship.
Andrej Karpathy and Elon Musk
- Both held a role at OpenAI (the dates given do not settle this: at least one is an announcement date or is not stated).
- Both held a role at Tesla.
This is about company funding only. It does not say the two people have a personal, financial or working relationship.
Dated news
Chosen by hand, not fetched live. Each line says who announced or reported what; “as reported by” would mark a secondary source. Newest first.
TechCrunch reported that Andrej Karpathy had joined Anthropic’s pre-training team, citing his announcement and an Anthropic spokesperson, and that his status at Eureka Labs was unclear.
Eureka Labs published a page describing itself as building an AI-native school, with an undergraduate-level course, LLM101n, as its first product. The page names no founder.
Their part of the graph
- Founded
- Held a role
- Donated to
- Invested in
- In a funding round
- Thinner and fainter: a commitment, not a completed act
- Person
- Company
- Investor or donor
Roles and board seats
Funding, by company
Anthropic
OpenAI
Sources
- Andrej Karpathy (personal site, career timeline) · Andrej Karpathy, karpathy.ai · primary source · undated page · read 2 Nov 2026
- Anthropic raises $30 billion in Series G funding at $380 billion post-money valuation · Anthropic · primary source · published 12 Feb 2026 · read 1 Nov 2026
- Anthropic raises $65B in Series H funding at $965B post-money valuation · Anthropic · primary source · published 28 May 2026 · read 1 Nov 2026
- Eureka Labs · Eureka Labs · primary source · published 16 Jul 2024 · read 2 Nov 2026
- Introducing OpenAI · OpenAI · primary source · published 11 Dec 2015 · read 1 Nov 2026
- Microsoft and OpenAI extend partnership · Microsoft · primary source · published 23 Jan 2023 · read 1 Nov 2026
- OpenAI raises $122 billion to accelerate the next phase of AI · OpenAI · primary source · published 31 Mar 2026 · read 1 Nov 2026
- Our structure · OpenAI · primary source · undated page · read 1 Nov 2026
- OpenAI co-founder Andrej Karpathy joins Anthropic’s pre-training team · TechCrunch · secondary source, “as reported by” · published 19 May 2026 · read 2 Nov 2026
Found something wrong, or out of date? Send a correction.
